Reader's Ramblings:  This is the day the Lord has made

As I sit here writing this, the world outside is slowly turning white as we experience an unexpected snowstorm. It’s beautiful to see but then it’s warm in here, the dogs have been walked and I don’t have to go out in it.

I sometimes think that we’re close to nature living in the countryside but there’s that layer of double glazing between us and all too often we’re just observers. It’s easy to think we are somehow apart from or even above nature - we have houses to protect us from the elements, we can generate electricity at the touch of a switch to dispel the darkness, we make drugs to delay death - the list is endless. But we are still very much an integral part of God’s creation and that can often surprise and horrify us.

One of my most lasting memories from childhood is being out in the fields with my Dad (looking for sheep of course), watching a wall of snow sweep across the other side of the valley, knowing that when it hits, our task will be so much harder, so much more uncomfortable and so much colder. Yet even knowing that didn’t detract from the sheer sense of exhilaration felt waiting for the snow to hit us. It reminds us that we’re truly alive… and our lives should be lived to the full in tandem with the rest of creation, each and every day.

This is the day the Lord has made…….let us rejoice and be glad in it.

June Lomas

 

Future Events

Mon Feb 26 @12:00PM - 01:00PM
Lent Lunch
Tue Feb 27 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Lent Course
Wed Feb 28 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Mothers' Union Meeting
Mon Mar 05 @12:00PM - 01:00PM
Lent Lunch
Tue Mar 06 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Lent Course
Wed Mar 07 @ 1:15PM - 01:45PM
Funeral of Raymond Denning
Fri Mar 09 @ 7:30PM - 08:30PM
Quiz night
Mon Mar 12 @12:00PM - 01:00PM
Lent Lunch
Mon Mar 12 @ 7:15PM - 09:00PM
Deanery Synod - making your buildings work - loos and shops
Tue Mar 13 @ 1:00PM - 01:30PM
Memorial Service for Richard Edminson
Tue Mar 13 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Lent Course
Wed Mar 14 @10:15AM - 11:15AM
Hulland Home Communion
Wed Mar 14 @ 1:00PM - 02:00PM
Funeral of Flora Dawkins
Wed Mar 14 @ 7:00PM - 09:00PM
Atlow APCM
Thu Mar 15 @ 7:30PM - 09:00PM
Messy Church meeting
Sat Mar 17 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
Hognaston Church Coffee Morning
Sat Mar 17 @10:00AM - 12:00PM
Hulland Spring Fair
Mon Mar 19 @12:00PM - 01:00PM
Lent Lunch
Tue Mar 20 @10:00AM - 11:00AM
Hulland School Easter Service at Church
Tue Mar 20 @12:00PM - 12:30PM
Mid Day Med